HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Off-Topic :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
heat pump or gas
Posted by: ho moaner confused ()
Date: November 28, 2010 12:33PM

Okay im new to DC area. Have lived in my centreville townhouse for less than 2 years. My heat pump (15 years old) has died. There is a gas meter rack thing on the front of the house with no meter on it and some of my neighbors heat with gas.
Question is this, is it worth an extra 1,800 american dollars to start heating my home with a gas furnace? The heat pump was just fine comfort wise last winter.
If I buy top efficency stuff I can get a 1500 dollar tax credit on either the gas or the heat pump. The contractor that I plan to use says I can get both heat pump and gas so that I only burn gas if its real cold outside.
I would be thankfull for any words of wisdom from some of you local folks.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: heat pump or gas
Posted by: eesh ()
Date: November 28, 2010 12:39PM

ho moaner confused Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------

> Question is this, is it worth an extra 1,800
> american dollars to start heating my home with a
> gas furnace?

Well Mr. Ho Moaner, it would be a much better investment if you paid in Euro or Swiss Franc.

Posted by: Logically Thinking ()
Date: November 28, 2010 01:09PM

The logical move would be to get the "combo" unit - providing you with the gas backup option if the temp gets down below 32 (F). However, natural gas prices have been relatively stable for the past several years.