HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Carmax?
Posted by: Carchick ()
Date: June 01, 2009 03:53PM

Anyone buy anything from Carmax? Good/Bad/Ulgy? I'm not good at car haggling in dealerships, but is it worth buying used cars from Carmax? They seem to use a lot of fleet (?) cars from auction, is this good/bad? On one hand one guy there tells me at least the car would have been maintained correctly. Is their Carmax care package worth getting?..

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Carmax?
Date: June 01, 2009 03:56PM

Carchick Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Anyone buy anything from Carmax? Good/Bad/Ulgy?
> I'm not good at car haggling in dealerships, but
> is it worth buying used cars from Carmax? They
> seem to use a lot of fleet (?) cars from auction,
> is this good/bad? On one hand one guy there tells
> me at least the car would have been maintained
> correctly. Is their Carmax care package worth
> getting?..

I have had good luck with Carmax but seriously, this is the worst market for carmakers in generations. Even for Toyota and Honda. You should think about getting a new car. You could probably get a hell of a deal.

Posted by: Judge Crater ()
Date: June 01, 2009 03:58PM

carmax is a no frills dealer. They are a lot easier to deal with than standard dealers and a lot less shady than say Easterns. Id say Lease a car from a regular dealer and or buy from Carmax depending on your long term short term needs for transportation.

Posted by: WHITEY2 ()
Date: June 01, 2009 03:59PM