HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Off-Topic :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Bullshit Advertising
Posted by: Warhawk ()
Date: July 31, 2012 11:14AM

I'm a pretty experience painter since I paint something associated with my house at least once, maybe twice a year. Despite the clever advertisements quoting "one coat coverage", I have yet to find a paint that does that. I don't care what's in it, what brand it is, what the color is, or if you prime beforehand - two coats is always the norm.

Bullshit advertising.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Bullshit Advertising
Posted by: splish splash ()
Date: July 31, 2012 11:29AM

Their test walls were horizontal.

Posted by: Ito ()
Date: July 31, 2012 11:30AM

I agree. Paint always looks better with two thin coats rather than one globby, drippy, thick one.

I prefer to use Kilz as a base coat anyway. It dries quickly, kills mold and other crap on the walls, is cheaper than paint and covers better.

Posted by: 2 cents ()
Date: July 31, 2012 11:52AM

I planned to use Benjamin Moore's Aura paint, since it's primary selling point is that it covers in one coat. When I went to buy it, the sales guy told me that I wouldn't be happy with one coat - so I wound up buying regular Benjamin Moore paint for less money. Oh well...

What brand of paint do you use? Over the years I've tried Glidden, Sherwin-Williams, Duron, and Benjamin Moore. BM is my top choice by far.

Posted by: Warhawk ()
Date: July 31, 2012 01:24PM

2 cents Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I planned to use Benjamin Moore's Aura paint,
> since it's primary selling point is that it covers
> in one coat. When I went to buy it, the sales guy