HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Loudoun :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Soliciting at Loudoun Intersections
Posted by: Loudoun Linus ()
Date: October 10, 2011 08:04PM

I'm new to Loudoun County. I moved to Ashburn last December.

I am continually encountering people at various intersections in and around Ashburn & Sterling, coming up my car soliciting money for some cause. They walk around with white buckets and they usually are covering all directions of the busy intersections.

Does anyone know who they are? How did they get approval to be out there week after week? I believe in contributing to good causes but every week the same people?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Soliciting at Loudoun Intersections
Posted by: Concerned Parents ()
Date: October 11, 2011 08:30AM

Loudoun Linus Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I'm new to Loudoun County. I moved to Ashburn last
> December.
>
> I am continually encountering people at various
> intersections in and around Ashburn & Sterling,
> coming up my car soliciting money for some cause.
> They walk around with white buckets and they
> usually are covering all directions of the busy
> intersections.
>
> Does anyone know who they are? How did they get
> approval to be out there week after week? I
> believe in contributing to good causes but every
> week the same people?

Don't give money to any of them. Some are for wacky church groups in the area, LaRouche supporters, and God knows what else. Only the Volunteer Fire Dept with their boots are considered to be "Legitimate". The others are all fakers, hoaxers, or just plain weirdo's.

http://www.connectionnewspapers.com/article.asp?article=312082&paper=83&cat=104