HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Paralegal career field?
Posted by: nervous career changer ()
Date: April 22, 2009 08:56PM

Hey,

I'm currently a software engineer and sick of the field, so I'm probably enrolling in Georgetown's summer paralegal certificate program, then plan on going to law school a few years later.

Anyone in here a paralegal in NoVA or DC, or have firsthand knowledge of what the job market is really like? What kind of salary am I really looking at? Any tips on firms to look at, or firms to avoid?

Thanks

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Paralegal career field?
Posted by: Freon really isn't free ()
Date: April 22, 2009 09:08PM

What's so bad about the software engineering field. I'm majoring in that next year. Anything I should be worried about?

Posted by: nervous career changer ()
Date: April 22, 2009 09:13PM

No, if you enjoy it... Software engineering is great money and you are easily employable.

I'm just burnt out from it. I made the mistake of making my hobby into my career. Plus I'm way too social, I get miserable if I'm stuck sitting in a cubicle 8 hours a day

This is entirely for personal reasons. If you're an independent, detail-oriented, methodical person who thinks logically, its a great field. I think software engineering was like #2 on the "top 10 best careers" list or something.

Stay away from government contracting or telecommunications though.. at least make REALLY sure the place isn't dilbertland or a cutthroat sweatshop run by high-pressure marketing types turned managers.

Posted by: Freon really isn't free ()
Date: April 22, 2009 09:16PM