HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
pissed of teacher
Posted by: pissed off teacher ()
Date: April 23, 2017 10:55PM

I work for a public school system. This A-Day, B-Day scheduling is the craziest thing ever. As a teacher, I waste an inordinate amount of time trying to remember what I need to cover tomorrow, v. the day after tomorrow, v. a week from now, adjusting dates on my powerpoints, etc. Also, they have me teaching two different levels. Why can't we keep is simple: teach the same subject for 45 minutes at a time (vs. 90 mins) five times a day? I bet there would be less teacher burn out, less teachers showing up drunk, and students would be better behaved!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: pissed of teacher
Posted by: mmmmm jjjjj ()
Date: April 23, 2017 11:39PM

"A" alternate "B" days make it EASY to teach. If you have two levels, it is either two different subjects one day and two different the next. Each class will be on the same page. Two lessons could be taught one day and the same lesson for the other group the next day. You, the teacher, should pace yourself so that the aforementioned occurs.

Now, if two classes of the same level/subject are taught then there still is no problem...teach two classes of the same level one day and two classes of another level the next.

It is as if you were attending college again.

Ninety-minute classes are better than forty-five minute classes. Nothing can be accomplished in forty-five minutes!

I hope you are not lecturing in forty-five minutes. The ninety-minute block will enable you to perform: Passive, Active, Passive activities. Students should NOT be doing the same activity for ninety-minutes.