HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Grades are a first proposal
Posted by: Mr. T ()
Date: June 25, 2014 04:11PM

I am an FCPS teacher, and I have been for some time. I work at the high school level, but I am sure that at least some of what I am about to say is germane to elementary and middle schoolers too.
I am not a disenfranchised teacher either. While I, like anyone, would like more money, I realize that whining to the school board is unlikely to bring about a raise. We work for the government, and the government is not likely to empathize with personal problems when cheap labor is on the line, and cheap labor that won't fight to boot. Plus, I enjoy my job and, despite the downsides, I genuinely like going to work in the morning.
So, what I am saying is an observation from a content teacher who has seen the comings and goings of many educational pendulum swings over the years, and this is what I am telling you: if you want your kid's grade changed, you can almost always make it happen. At the high school level we have to :
1. Submit our gradebooks to the admins
2. Answer for any discrepancies between the number of assignments we give and the number a colleague gives.
3. Answer for discrepancies between the grades we give and the grades colleagues give.
4. Submit our final exam, a rationale for it, and how much it counts.
5. Give phone numbers where we can be reached throughout the summer if a grade is contested.