HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Pos. of Marijuana Charge/ First offense...worth getting a lawyer?
Posted by: AR ()
Date: January 19, 2011 02:38PM

I got pulled over and the officer smelt pot. I told him I had it, he didnt put me in cuffs and just gave me a citation. He said I was very honest and he appreciated that. Tomorrow is my court date and I'm really worried about 1. my record and 2. my license. I'm a full time college student and employee. I cannot let this get on my record and I'll loose both if I lose my license. Should I get a lawyer, it's going to cost me at least $1000. Is it worth it?

Thanks.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Pos. of Marijuana Charge/ First offense...worth getting a lawyer?
Posted by: Johnny Walker ()
Date: January 19, 2011 02:45PM

No reason to consider getting a lawyer till the afternoon before your court date.

Posted by: Judge_Crater ()
Date: January 19, 2011 02:48PM

I agree with JW. In fact, you should probably just skip the court date. The officer will tell the court how honest you are and how much he appreciates you. The judge will then most likely dismiss the charges. I wouldn't worry.

Date: January 19, 2011 02:49PM

I knowww, I found one will to take it on though. I just am hesitant to spend the money. I feel like I'm going to get the same outcome no matter what.

Date: January 19, 2011 02:50PM

And if you're going to be a dick, do it elsewhere please. k thanks.

Posted by: JC ()
Date: January 19, 2011 02:57PM

OK, let's assume your story is actually true and that you're not some troll.