HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Two questions about gyms
Posted by: sak ()
Date: May 12, 2011 08:06PM

1. I live right across Oakton High School, but I am a high school graduate who has never attended there (my family moved here just after my graduation a year ago). It would be illegal for me to enter its gym to work out, right? Or if I email a few coaches and ask them nicely for permission, would I be able to? I'm home for the summer (only about a month or two though) and the high school is the cheapest and closest location.

2. If not, what are some good (and hopefully cheap )free weight gyms that has squat racks, deadlift platforms, and allows Olympic lifting? It would be preferable if you could give me a location that is in a walking distance from near the Vienna metro station/Oakton high school.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Two questions about gyms
Posted by: -SBS-_ ()
Date: May 12, 2011 08:09PM

No way ANY high school will let you use their weight room unsupervised, and the coaches are't interested in supervising you.

Can't help you with question #2.

Posted by: monkeyfightclub ()
Date: May 12, 2011 08:14PM

Lifetime Fitness in Fair City mall has a dead lift platform and I've seen some people do olympic lifts when I went to visit a friend who worked there. I'm not sure if it's cheaper than Golds however.

Posted by: Gordon Blvd ()
Date: May 12, 2011 08:15PM

Posted by: sak ()
Date: May 12, 2011 08:17PM

Last time I've been there, there were no free weight barbells, only dumbbells (and ones too light at that). Only a Smith machine. Or did they upgrade ever since?

Posted by: donut lover ()
Date: May 12, 2011 09:30PM