HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Landlord/Tenant Legal Advice
Posted by: Gabrielle ()
Date: March 18, 2009 05:43PM

If there are any lawyers out there, I have an issue regarding my lease in a hi-rise apartment in Alexandria. Serious only, please. Let me know.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Landlord/Tenant Legal Advice
Posted by: MrMephisto ()
Date: March 18, 2009 06:02PM

I'm a lawyer. How can I help?

--------------------------------------------------------------
13 4826 0948 82695 25847. Yes.

Date: March 18, 2009 06:12PM

I believe I am being unlawfully evicted from my apartment, in a hi-rise complex. Here is my story: Moved in on February 1, 2009. A few weeks later, the manager sends me a letter saying a neighbor is complaining of cigarette odor coming from my apartment. I attempted to all I could, within reason, to solve this problem. I burned incense, scented candles, potent air fresheners, and purchased 2 high-powered air purifiers. Two weeks goes by, and we get another letter, saying the same thing. So, I began only smoking in my back bedroom, with the window open. Now, I got a letter (again) from the manager yesterday, saying I must vacate the premises (or not smoke in the comfort of my own apartment!) within 30 days. I have had no other complaints; I don't bother anybody (the manager said this particular neighbor is "very sensitive to smells"); I pay rent on time. Do I have any legal recourse? I cannot afford to move again, nor do I want to move because I love the location of the apartment. Please help.

Posted by: Junes ()
Date: March 18, 2009 06:33PM