HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Off-Topic :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
James Madison University vs. Virginia Tech
Posted by: DukeorHokie ()
Date: February 23, 2012 09:37PM

Okay, I am debating right now on which school is more "prestige" than the other. I am majoring in business. I heard good things from both JMU and V-Tech. It is extremely hard to pick which to attend. I have visited both campuses and each are beautiful. It all boils down to which is considered more "prestige". According to businessweek, JMU is ranked at #28 in national business school, below William & Mary (23rd). Virginia Tech is ranked (54), because it is mainly an engineering school. Also, US NEWS AND RANKINGS, ranks JMU at 2nd in public University and 6th combined with private and public schools for regional University. While Virginia Tech is ranked at a mediocre 73. I got into each of these famous/popular schools. Each have same characteristics, so it all boils to "prestige". Help me decide please!

James Madison University PROS: Excellent business (ranked 28th on Businessweek, right under William & Mary for Virginia), general education, arts & theater, Excellent Science, Research, and creative arts, located in a small urban city.
CONS: Too much of a "party" school, 2 hours from my house,not known "nationally".
CONS: Sucky Business School ( ranked 53 or 54th on Businessweek for 2011 business undergraduate rankings), "Middle of Nowhere", takes 4+ Hours to travel from my house..., infamous reputation from Virginia Tech massacre.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: James Madison University vs. Virginia Tech
Posted by: basically ()
Date: February 23, 2012 09:44PM