HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Off-Topic :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Bill N., Les, WTL, Wingnut, RR, Justsayin,McSmack..or anyone else..FairTax
Posted by: SoylentGreen ()
Date: August 15, 2011 06:30PM

FairTax.

Could it work?

If it does, would you want it to?

I could spend days trying to read up on it and still wouldn't understand it.

I'm just an average business owner but I'd really like some opinions.

Thanks

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Bill N., Les, WTL, Wingnut, RR, Justsayin,McSmack..or anyone else..FairTax
Posted by: Atom ()
Date: August 15, 2011 07:23PM

Silly Soylent. Those posters can only rehash the tag lines of their political masters. Asking for their interpretation, for them to think for themselves, is like asking your faucet to pour beer instead of water.

Posted by: Les ()
Date: August 15, 2011 07:39PM

Fairtax is a consumption tax. It promotes a 27% tax rate, but the real tax rate is 36.9% since the 27 cents comes from the gross receipts after adding on the new tax. You're actually levying a 27 cent tax on 73 cents of final sales as currently recorded.

If you have to balance the budget using this consumption tax, the effective tax rate on purchases will probably be well in excess of 50 percent. It also has a welfare component where people are given a fixed amount (15-20K) each year to offset some of the pain.

Date: August 15, 2011 07:40PM

Atom Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Silly Soylent. Those posters can only rehash the
> tag lines of their political masters. Asking for
> their interpretation, for them to think for
> themselves, is like asking your faucet to pour
> beer instead of water.