HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Off-Topic :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
The Boot Thread (Timberland vs. Red Wing)
Posted by: Urbanist ()
Date: October 15, 2012 10:59PM

I've been wearing Timberlands for 15 years. I'm in the market for a new pair of boots this season but Timberlands are getting more expensive while their quality has really fallen. The new ones on the shelf now have no instep support and the uppers overall just feel totally flimsy.

I've been hearing a lot of Red Wing boot ads but, their overcompensating ads are a bit obnoxious. "The man who wears Red Wing boots takes his work seriously. He believes in a fair day's wage for a fair day's work. He's also got a big dick, too..."

If they're good boots at a nice price, I guess me and my 4 inches can live with our failings. Does anyone know anything about Red Wing boots and is there another brand I should be looking at?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: The Boot Thread (Timberland vs. Red Wing)
Posted by: MrMephisto ()
Date: October 15, 2012 11:09PM

Red Wings are expensive, but they are like wearing a pair of dreams. I wore my pair until the tread completely wore off. And, they're made of high-quality leather, so they won't crack or anything like cheaper leather boots.

If you've never worn Red Wings, give 'em a try. You won't regret it.

--------------------------------------------------------------
13 4826 0948 82695 25847. Yes.

Posted by: eesh ()
Date: October 15, 2012 11:15PM

If you want to spend a bit more money, you can't beat Danner.

http://www.danner.com/boots/

Posted by: LEATHERMAN ()
Date: October 15, 2012 11:17PM