HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
City of Fairfax: Biggest Issues/Concerns
Posted by: City Resident 65 ()
Date: March 10, 2012 12:20PM

With the City elections coming up, this forum provides an invaluable look at what concerns citizens about this small area, that is encircled by the county with a much higher population. As a city resident, my biggest issue/concern, is the large buildup of commercial and residential zones, and little to no planning(closer to none), of roads to lead this extra traffic volume in and around the city.

What are your thoughts? Also, what about going back to Old Town being one way streets, the way it used to be?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: City of Fairfax: Biggest Issues/Concerns
Posted by: Jess1 ()
Date: March 10, 2012 01:00PM

Here's an idea: Fairfax "city" joins the dustbin of history - or at least is no longer allowed to force the rest of us Fairfax County taxpayers to subsidize it's pathetic existence.
For a real treat, stop forcing County children into city Schools - or at least give Country residents say in city government.

Feh.

Posted by: What are you talking about? ()
Date: March 10, 2012 03:05PM

Jess1, you have written similar things before. The county does not subsidize the City's existence. In fact, the county kids who attend City schools get the benefit of the pool of extra services that are paid for by the City of Fairfax residents.

Posted by: Frttt ()
Date: March 10, 2012 06:07PM

How about demolishing the buildings along 123 in order to widen the thoroughfare? Old Town just seems to be in the way of the flow of the city.

Date: March 10, 2012 09:56PM