HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Verizon Fios vs Comcast - Please help!
Posted by: Con Sumer ()
Date: December 29, 2011 12:20PM

So a guy from Comcast comes to my door yesterday, telling me that he can provide the phone, internet, and cable bundle for $ 109 per month for 12 months, and then go to $ 136 per month for the second year. Two year contract, so at the end of this time I am a free agent once again. He will include the premium channels I already get with Fios, but will add Starz.

Call Verizon to see what they will do in response. They agree to drop from the $ 228.00 I am currently paying to $ 179 per month.

I will apparently have to pay Verizon $ 179 to get out of my current contract, but Comcast will throw in a $ 150 credit for that.

Anyone want to share with me their thoughts on Comcast? I have generally been pleased with Fios, and it never goes out in storms, etc.

Verizon said something about their speed is 35-35 and Comcast offers 25-25, which the Comcast guy confirmed. I am not a computer expert, and don't really need blazing speed or anything.

Thanks, and have a Happy New Year!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Verizon Fios vs Comcast - Please help!
Posted by: J.F. ()
Date: December 29, 2011 12:30PM

If you"re pleased with your current service, why switch?

Posted by: Comcast Sucks ()
Date: December 29, 2011 12:31PM