HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
making us sign ticket under threat of arrest
Posted by: ommieee ()
Date: August 17, 2005 10:31PM

I am not a lawyer. I throw this topic out for discussion. Hopefully a lawyer familiar with the law can shed some light.

As most know ANY document, contract etc.. signed under threat, duress, or coercion is not valid and will not stand in a court of law.
I was told that if we write those three words down next to your signature, when you go to court the judge will have to throw out the ticket. Sounds far fetched that's why I'm posting this.

Let me add that you must explain to the cop you are innocent of any wrong doing. You cannot just write those words down with your signature and expect the judge to throw out your ticket. It was even recommended to purchase a 10 min. tape recorder and tell the cop you are tapeing the conversation. The cop isn't going to be worried you are taping it and most will allow you to do so.

After you explained to the cop you are not guilty of whatever he stopped you for he most likely will write you a ticket. Refuse to sign the ticket. The cop will explain it is not an admission of guilt just states you will show up in court if you choose not to pay the ticket. Tell him it feels to you that by signing you are admitting guilt. That you would rather not sign. Of course he is going to tell you that if you don't sign he will take you in custody, jail you, whatever. That's exactly what you want him to say. So when you go to court you have proof of the threat, duress, and coercion. Sign the ticket and include the thre words next to your signature.