HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Is TJ worth it?
Posted by: kid21 ()
Date: February 01, 2011 02:20PM

I'm a freshman at TJ and it's pretty cool but to maintain good grades it takes a huge toll on your social life. I miss not having hw and breezing through tests...getting 4.0 no sweat.Right now it seems like college wise my base school would be a better option, if for no other reason then standing out as an academic. Not only would I have more fun but I could also get easy A's. And really, do colleges like a 3.8 TJ grad or a 4.0 regular grad? Thoughts?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Is TJ worth it?
Posted by: happy? ()
Date: February 01, 2011 02:35PM

(parent of TJ grad writing this) If you are not happy there now as a freshman, then you may end being very miserable there as a junior. TJ is not the right place for every intelligent, gifted student. There is no shame in returning to your base school if it seems to be the right fit for you and can offer you the academic classes you're interested in taking.

Have you talked with your high school counselor about this? That person would be able to provide help.

For colleges, it depends on where you want to go (stay in Virginia, go to the west coast?). Colleges in Virginia have a hard time with the large number of northern Virginia students applying, it seems.

Posted by: do what's right ()
Date: February 01, 2011 02:43PM