HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Internet Access in rural areas
Posted by: Schmidt ()
Date: July 06, 2007 08:39PM

Looking for comments from anyone using internet via satellite dish or through their wireless modem (like verizon). About to move to a rural area with few choices and wondered which one to use. I'm a programmer by trade and need fairly zippy access for work.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Internet Access in rural areas
Posted by: TheMeeper ()
Date: July 06, 2007 08:49PM

I have a friend out in Front Royal who has internet thru satellite, and he hates it. He bitches about it being too slow and it drops out alot. He wants to switch back to dial-up, but he's still under contract, which adds to the frustration.

Posted by: anagogue ()
Date: July 07, 2007 02:05AM

Many people in Front Royal have cable or DSL.. Heck. People on top of the mountains in Haymarket have cable. Do you actually KNOW you can't get high-speed where you're looking? I know there are a lot of places, but you might be surprised.

Posted by: Gravis ()
Date: July 07, 2007 04:48AM

Schmidt Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> About to move to a rural area
> with few choices and wondered which one to use.

the actual name and location of the rural place you are going to would be helpful. also, what exactly do you need "zippy" internet access for? if you are just doing file transfers for your job, it's best to do a "remote desktop" approach.

you could always use several shotgun modems with POTS.  ^_^