HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Kiddie parks
Posted by: Brokedick13 ()
Date: July 22, 2005 10:23AM

I am new to the Fairfax area (Virginia for that matter), and have been having trouble locating a good kiddie park for my 2 year old. Any info on parks with play structures, swing sets, and maybe some walking trails would be appreciated. Anything within 10 minutes driving distance of Fair Oaks Mall or the Penderbrook area would be helpful.

Thanking everyone in advance,
Eric13

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Kiddie parks
Posted by: johnnye ()
Date: July 22, 2005 11:26AM

Are you talking about the subdivision types? I know there HAS to be at least one of those in Fair Lakes. I lived there for two years but I cannot remember where they are.

There's also one in Greenbriar, I think its part of the school there. Elementary schools is probably a good idea too. I know there has to be one in your area, thats an actual park. It'll come to me later.

Posted by: dlee ()
Date: July 22, 2005 11:57AM

Here's the Fairfax County Park Authority overview of some of the major parks.
http://www.co.fairfax.va.us/parks/glance003.htm

I used to live behind Nottowood park off Courthouse Rd. (66E to 123 turn right onto Courthouse). It's got some good stuff.

Also check out the green sections of this Google map of the Fair Oaks area. Those are either parks or golf courses.

Just be sure to make sure there's not too many sex offenders living around the parks, right?

Date: July 22, 2005 12:16PM

dlee Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Just be sure to make sure there's not too many sex
> offenders living around the parks, right?