HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
MYSTERIOUS "HAUNTED" HOUSE by the abandoned lorton penitentiary.
Posted by: laura discord ()
Date: June 05, 2007 10:39PM

this is quite a long post, i realize, but i bet it's worth you reading.

a couple months ago, i was looking for a way to fill my friday night. it was after 1:30 and everyone my age (i'm sixteen) had pretty much turned in.

i have a real love for the obscure.

sure, there's bunnyman bridge, but that just seemed too trite. and then i remembered occaquan, a sleepy little ghost town just this side of I-95. i live in reston. the destination was set. miles and i set out down fairco, got onto ox road, and chased it down to the occaquan exit. occaquan has this great rickety wooden bridge across a big river, and everything closes by 9pm. the place was deserted. miles and i enjoyed some time being the only living souls for ten miles, and after substantially freaking ourselves out with talk of axe-murderers and the like, we decided we'd had our fun.

it was on our journey home that we noticed the real treasure: the closed lorton penitentiary. we'd heard of it but never realized it actually existed, you know? and we wanted it! now, we aren't stupid. we knew we weren't gonna be able to get inside. but we wanted to case the grounds, stalk the perimeter, whatever we could get. we got more than we bargained for.