HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Run of the mill speeding ticket
Posted by: MrSmithers ()
Date: May 22, 2007 03:39PM

I see a lot of people post here trying to figure out of they need a lawyer to fight tickets like reckless driving, etc..

What if you have a normal speeding ticket for say, 15 over?

I've been a ffx resident for over a decade and I've not been pulled over here once up until a few weeks ago. I was rushing to get somewhere and got a legit ticket for 60 in a 45. No big deal. I can pay my fine like a big boy.

When I was a younger man growing up in New York State and more prone to lead foot syndrome I gat snagged a few times. The surest way to get out of a ticket was to show up to court. Most of the time the cop didn't show up and the ticket was dismissed on the spot. The one time he did show, I asked the judge to attend school and not assign points. He did and the ticket never showed up on my insurance.

Does the same stuff work down here? I'd rather just pay my fine if it's likely that I'll end up with the same by showing up to court, especially since I have no legitimate defense. But if there is a decent chance of actually having the thing dismissed I might just take the day off and participate in the judicial process. (Lets call it selfish civic duty.)

Anyone have any run of the mill ticket tips for Fairfax court?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Run of the mill speeding ticket
Posted by: . ()
Date: May 22, 2007 04:03PM

Doubtful that the officer won't show up in court. If a Fairfax officer doesn't show up that is investigated internally by the department.