HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
arrested for drunk in public.. looking for some advice
Posted by: humanliberty ()
Date: May 20, 2007 04:28PM

Hello friends,

I am an international PHD student economics at George Mason University from The Netherlands on a F-1 Visa, ( but I consider myself a patriotic american :). Recently after finishing my finals at George Mason I drank some beers with some friends.

After drinking we went home to a friends place, where I had a lively discussion outside on the road ( about cultural differences. lol ) that he neighbors perceived as a possible fight. A police officer came and arrested me for smelling like alcohol in public ( I was on the road ) . I spent a night in jail, and now I have to go to court for a Class IV Misdemeanor "drunk in public".

I was wondering what the best tactic is to proceed? I do not want stuff on my 'record'. In Amsterdam its perfectly normal to be drunk in public ( as long as you dont hurt anyone ofcourse! ) and the same in DC where I live, so I kind of forgot its a big deal in the USA in silent areas. ( but understandable! Americans dont take BS. twenty something guys at 2am having loud discussions while your trying to sleep are irritating . )

Anyway, I was hoping any of you could give me some advice?
I was thinking of contacting my embassy, the University and possible get a lawyer, although I'd kind of feel like a wimp for contacting my embassy at the first minor setback in the system I have embraced ;)

Thanks all for your help! I want to keep a clean record in this wonderful country!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: arrested for drunk in public.. looking for some advice