HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Driver's License Suspension
Posted by: Craig ()
Date: January 20, 2007 02:09AM

To make long story short I got my drivers license taken away by the traffic court here in Fairfax for 6 months today. I am a school teacher. I had it taken away for passing through a red light. I clearly saw it as green just turning yellow. I had a few points due to minor tickets over a course of the last couple of years. I really need to get back and forth from work. I understand that I can request for a restricted license and I may do that. My friend however, suggested me to get an out of state license. Can I realistically get a license from Maryland,DC(nearby state) and drive legitimatially? Any other suggestions please welcome

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Driver's License Suspension
Posted by: The Congressman ()
Date: January 20, 2007 03:07AM

They took away your license for a reason, that reason being you don't deserve one. Get the restricted license and be happy.

Posted by: RESton Peace ()
Date: January 20, 2007 03:10AM

No, MD will know if you are suspended in VA.

Also, in court was the time to request the restricted license. Now it's going to be even more of a pain in the ass to get it.

Clearly you weren't in court with a lawyer. I'm also not sure how ANY red light violation can turn into a suspended license. if it was the points that got you, then the court did not suspend it, the DMV did.

Posted by: Mark Emory ()
Date: January 20, 2007 06:44AM

Be very careful. Fairfax does not fuck around when it comes to suspended licenses.