HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Apartment Noises
Posted by: Apartmentnoises ()
Date: June 26, 2017 02:21PM

It's my first time living in an apartment and I'm just wondering what are considered normal apartment noises to tolerate?

I live on the top floor and the family below me is constantly jumping and running or something that causes loud bass sounds and at times vibrates my floor. I know there is no way they are banging because of the noise I'm making because most of the time they do it I'm sitting still working at my computer with headphones; Yes I can hear the bass and feel the vibrations with headphones on, I can actually hear it better.

I know when they are cutting meat, that noise doesn't bother me even though it sounds like they are cutting the meat directly below me even though their kitchen is 2 rooms down.

I hear them or their kid running around from 12-4am, slamming doors, screaming, or they are talking very loud. No, I'm not doing things at those hours except being woken up and trying to get back to sleep.

Do people in apartments just accept these kinds of noises? I have no clue how the floor below them puts up with the noise, but they are friends.

I have no clue what their kid can be doing in a small apartment bedroom to cause so much noise except maybe jumping off the bed, stomping around, banging on the walls...