HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Pages: 12AllNext
Current Page: 1 of 2
TJHSST Myths
Posted by: Angel ()
Date: January 19, 2016 05:48PM

I am a student at TJ High and I would like to say three things:

First, regarding the race, Asians and Whites are more common because they apply. If minorities decided to apply in greater numbers than the number of Hispanics and Blacks accepted would rise respectively. The admissions are NOT decided by the school but by a separate Admissions Board. The first round is decided PURELY by a test score and GPA. The semifinalist round is decided by teacher recommendations and a writing portion. (It will be administered this Saturday) TJ has had to TURN AWAY Asians in the past with higher scores because FCPS was complaining so much about other races not being represented. Those students had scores of below the 90th percentile while there were students in the 98th percentile being turned away. TJ's admission rate is 1/6, equivalent to top private schools in the country like John Hopkins (MD) or Berkley (CA).