HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
good places to work? suggestions?
Posted by: chantilly ()
Date: December 08, 2008 07:36PM

I am a college student and I am looking to work at a place for this winter break and then again in the summer. I want a job that'll keep my busy throughout the day but will not be hard and boring with a boss thats not a dickhead because he will eventually be working for me... so give me suggestions?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: good places to work? suggestions?
Posted by: Bob ()
Date: December 09, 2008 02:16AM

Try a front desk job at a hotel.

The bigger corporate-owned hotels like to hire college graduates, but the smaller hotels hire just about anyone even though they both pay the same wages.

Residence Inns, Comfort Inns, Westpark Hotel, etc, those are good places to work.

Other than that, if you are ambitious, you can try to get a paid internship downtown. Your school should be able to help you with that, but you'll make more money working as a front desk clerk. Or a Bank Teller, or something like that.

If you work at the front desk of a tourist hotel, you'll end up making more money from selling tickets to All About Town and all the other bus tours of DC. I worked at a hotel during college breaks where I was getting about $9 an hour (in the late 80's and early 90's) but would go home with anywhere between 60 and 150 bucks from calling in reservations for bus tours of DC. THe way it works is the bus tour companies let you take 50% of the ticket price, and then the bus companies would take the other 50% when the party boarded the bus.