HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
Fairfax or Loudoun
Posted by: nyynym25 ()
Date: December 08, 2008 06:17PM

Hello, I just sold my house in Charlotte, NC and is moving to DC area. I am a former resident of Greenbriar.(left in '04) I was just wondering, If I should look in Chantilly for a 500-750k home, or would I be better off looking in Loudoun? Thanks.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Fairfax or Loudoun
Posted by: Thomas More ()
Date: December 08, 2008 06:18PM

Got kids? Go to Loudoun. Smaller high schools. Lower prices per square foot for the house.

Posted by: Thomas' English Muffins ()
Date: December 08, 2008 06:22PM

I agree with Thom McCann above.

Date: December 08, 2008 06:23PM

Thomas More Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Got kids? Go to Loudoun. Smaller high schools.
> Lower prices per square foot for the house.

Is the commute time form Leesburg that much different than Chantilly to around 495-50 area?

Posted by: Tommy Boy ()
Date: December 08, 2008 06:27PM

No, due to easier access to the Toll Rd., the commute is actually shorter. You'll pay about $1000 a year, but time saved is worth money spent. The Rt. 28 north commute is ususally a parking lot.

Posted by: formerhick76 ()
Date: December 08, 2008 09:53PM

28 North is going to get better - they are building interchanges at Frying Pan Road and Willard,

not sure about what's going in north of the toll road. OTOH, they don't seem to be doing much about I-66/28 which is another cluster!@#$.