HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
New VA Resident and 1st HOV Ticket EVER
Posted by: PC2610 ()
Date: March 21, 2013 12:37PM

I need advice...PLEASE!!!!

I am a new resident to VA (3 months) and received a ticket yesterday on I-66 (during PM traffic) towards Front Royal. I had just entered the ramp (hadn't merged yet) when the trooper pulled me over. I admit that it's my fault that I didn't notice the sign, however this was my 1st time taking I-66 in that direction because I was off work and was on my way to Vienna to pick my child up from school.

Usually I pick him up after I get off work and take the street routes from Merrifield. Then from Vienna, I drive towards Washington (which does not have HOV in the afternoon).

Long story short, I think that $125 + $62 (CONVINIENCE FEE) is alot of $ to charge someone with a 1st time offense. Do WARNINGS not exist in VA? What would happend if I try to go to court to fight it? If found guilt, would I have to pay the $187 + court costs?

BTW...I have held a DL for 16 years and have NEVER received a traffic ticket. Do HOV tickets carry points? Can this fine be reduced?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: New VA Resident and 1st HOV Ticket EVER
Posted by: Ralph Pootawn ()
Date: March 21, 2013 12:39PM

There's a first for everything, donkey.

Posted by: kthMG ()
Date: March 21, 2013 12:46PM

PC2610 Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I admit that it's my fault that I didn't
> notice the sign...

Your fault, ya got caught. So pay the fine, chaulk the cost up to experience & move on. Done.

Glad I could help.

Posted by: Virginian ()
Date: March 21, 2013 12:46PM