HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Fairfax County General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
What makes Fx Co. Schools so great? I don't get it?
Posted by: Fcpsparent ()
Date: March 04, 2013 02:46PM

I hear over and over parents commending fcps. What is it that everyone loves so much? I'm pretty new to the schools and they're ok, but I'm not wowed by them. The curriculum is better than what I had as a kid. The facilities are old and unappealing. The teachers are hit or miss, that's everywhere, I know. Special Education is disappointing and years behind other school districts. Computers are outdated.

I expected some sort of state of the art creative learning environment when we moved here. Again, the general Ed curriculum seems good, but the environment is institutional and the arts have left my kids disliking art and music. Is there a curriculum for music or just random songs chosen by the music teacher?

I'm not dogging the schools, I'm just wondering what it is parents love so much about the schools here. I don't want this to be a negative thread about fcps, but rather insight into what people view as stellar about the schools. Maybe compare and contrast other schools you've been involved in.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: What makes Fx Co. Schools so great? I don't get it?
Posted by: durrr ()
Date: March 04, 2013 03:09PM

Posted by: Rte 1 Hater ()
Date: March 04, 2013 03:24PM