HomeFairfax General ForumArrest/Ticket SearchWiki newPictures/VideosChatArticlesLinksAbout
Eastern Fairfax General :  Fairfax Underground fairfax underground logo
Welcome to Fairfax Underground, a project site designed to improve communication among residents of Fairfax County, VA. Feel free to post anything Northern Virginia residents would find interesting.
anyone know about the old landfill at the end of eisenhower ave?
Posted by: slowcar281 ()
Date: July 27, 2013 06:15PM

i work in construction and we are excavating at 330 hoofs run drive in alexandria. there was the go kart track and a thrifty car rental there before.

this place used to be a big landfill, and i was wondering if anyone knew when it was last active? i cant seem to find anything about it on the internet.....

about 40 feet down we have dug up tons of old tires, most are bias ply and some even have tubes.i have found tons of coca cola bottles that look like they date back to the 60s. i even found a few bottles of some soda called "crass"..... apperantly it was made my coca cola just for a few short years.

they must have let people dump anything they wanted there. we have pulled up complete rear axles from cars that still had the wheels attached at the ends..... even dug up a few telephone poles. what suprises me that they let people dump all this stuff so close to the water, because that dirt is extremely contaminated now.

so does anyone have any info on this place? even the engineers who work on the job dont know when it operated as a landfill or when it closed.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: anyone know about the old landfill at the end of eisenhower ave?
Posted by: No Shit..... ()
Date: August 12, 2013 11:12AM

Before becoming a landfill the Alexandria sanitation plant was located there.
Acres of treated waste was left to dry and decompose.
Tires should be reported to the EPA.

Posted by: couchman ()
Date: September 19, 2013 03:51PM